ApAC Seminar_Liqun Luo+Jan Lui_ZOOM Card
Join our next NEW HORIZONS webinar with HHMI Investigator and Professor of Biology, Liqun Luo, PhD, from Stanford University and his rising research star, Dr. Jan Lui, PhD.
 
Neuronal dynamics in prefrontal cortex: How much do cell types matter?
 

In this seminar, Dr. Luo and Dr. Lui will discuss some of their work on the cellular and molecular mechanisms of human neocortical development and evolution, and some of their current research on dissecting neocortical function on the basis of cell type. Dr. Luo and Lui's research addresses the fundamental question: To what extent are cell type definitions based on static molecular and anatomical properties predictive of encoding properties during complex behavior? By using a combination of single-cell sequencing and viral tracing to better define projection neuron subtypes combined with Inscopix miniscope imaging in freely-behaving animals, they find that task signals are represented redundantly among cell types, but with clear quantitative biases based on specific molecular-anatomical characteristics -- a concrete example of the balance between redundancy and specificity in task signal encoding.

*NOTE: There will be a brief 10 min introduction in Mandarin by Dr. Liqun, however, the main content will be presented in English.

Join us to LEARN MORE!

 TUESDAY, March 2, 2021
5 PM (PST) / 8 PM (EST)
------ 🌅 ------
WEDNESDAY, March 3, 2021
9 AM (CST|NST) / 10 AM (JST|KST)

With 140+ publications worldwide, Inscopix’s nVistaTMand nVokeTM solutions enable scientists to acquire deep insights and map novel brain circuits in freely moving animals.